Board of Governors

5331 McConnell Avenue Terrace, BC V8G 4X2 (P) 250-638-5491(F) 250-638-5461

Regular Meeting Minutes December 11, 2015 Long House, Terrace Campus

ATTENDANCE:

Board members:	H. Pond, Chair T. Euverman R. Riesen	P. Bjorn D. Louis A. Ruiz	E. Dusdal L. Praught D. van Dyk
Regrets:	B. McRae J. Ross	D. McKeever D. Sanghera	W. Parmar
Staff members:	K. Burt, President & CEO J. Kohlman, VP Education and Student Development S. Johnson, Executive Assistant to the Board of Governors/Presidents Office (Note Tak		

Regrets:

J. Kohlman, VP Education and Student Development
S. Johnson, Executive Assistant to the Board of Governors/Presidents Office (Note Taker)
C. Sousa, Vice President Finance & Administration

ROUND TABLE INTRODUCTIONS:

1.0 Territorial Acknowledgement :

Northwest Community College's Board of Governors acknowledges the Tsimshian people of Kitsumkalum, especially the Laxgibuu clan on whose traditional territory this meeting will take place.

In Camera session called to order at 1:16

2.0 Swearing In Ceremony

Taxpayer accountability read for all new members lead by H. Pond. Oaths of Office read By: Reto Reisen, Faculty Representative; Alexa Ruiz, Student Representative; and Desiree Louis, Student Representative.

3.0 Round Table Introductions

4.0 Presentation

Enrolment presentation presented by S. Salem.

5.0 Adoption of December 11, 2015 Regular Agenda

On the motion made by T. Euverman and seconded by D. van Dyk: "THAT the December 11, 2015 Regular agenda be adopted as presented."

6.0 Consent Agenda

No consent agenda items

7.0 Adoption of Regular Minutes from October 9, 2015

On the motion made by E. Dusdal and seconded by R. Riesen "That the October 9, 2015 Regular meeting minutes be adopted as presented."

8.0 Business Arising from Minutes

8.1 Repositioning (Branding)

J. Kohlman will have an update for the board in February 2016.

MOTION CARRIED

MOTION CARRIED

8.2 Strategic Plan 2015-2018 The Strategic Plan 2015-2018 was presented by K. Burt. On the motion made by D. van Dyk and seconded by P. Bjorn: "That the Strategic Plan 2015-2018 be adopted as presented."

MOTION CARRIED

9.0 New Business

9.1 Assignment of Committee Members Executive Committee Chair H. Pond, Members D. van Dyk, and L. Praught Newly assigned Community Member: D. Sanghera

Finance and Audit Committee and Institutional Performance

Chair D. van Dyk Newly assigned members: Tom Euverman, Ernie Dusdal, Lucy Praught, Desiree Louis

Policy Committee

Chair: D. Sanghera Newly assigned members: Alexa Ruiz, Donny van Dyk, John Ross, Tom Euverman

Futures Committee

Chair: P. Bjorn Newly assigned members; Reto Reisen, Alexa Ruiz, Desiree Louis, Herb Pond, Tom Euverman, Donny van Dyk.

10.0 Committee Reports10.1 Executive CommitteeA 360 evaluation report has been reviewed by the Chair Herb Pond, for K. Burt, President.

10.2 Education Council An Education Council report was provided to the Board by D. McKeever.

10.3 Finance and Audit Committee

Quarter 2 statements have been reviewed, the next report to review will be the Quarter 3 by the committee.

10.4 First Nations Council

No report available.

10.5 Policy Review Committee No report provided as there has been no activity.

11.0 President's Report 11.1 President's Update K. Burt provided a brief update.

12.0 Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:03 PM

Recording Secretary Sophia Johnson Date:

Board Chair Approval (Chair) H. Pond Date: