

5331 McConnell Ave., Terrace, B.C., V8G 4X2 Phone: (250) 635-6511, Fax: (250) 638-5476

MINUTES OF THE EDUCATION COUNCIL MEETING Friday, 17 June 2011 Room 208, Terrace Campus

Present: Margaret Brown- Chair, Beverly Moore Garcia, Debbie Stava, Laura Webb, Keisha Wilson, Melanie Wilke, Gerry Gauthier, Sheree Ronaasen, Kathryn Fullerton, John Turner, Bobbi Boyd, Mikal Jensen.

Teleconference: Barb Henry.

Videoconference: Reto Rieson, Inez Shanoss, Mercedes De la Nuez, Dave McKeever, Lianne Gagnon, Brian Butler.

Guests: Dianne Bell, Jill Pimlott, Stephanie Hall.

Regrets: Amarilys Ducharme Cheryl Wyatt

Recording Secretary: Annette Sorensen.

Call to Order: The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. in Room 208, at the Terrace Campus on the 27th May 2011.

Northwest Community College would like to acknowledge the Tsimshian people of Kitsumkalum, especially the Laxgibuu Clan on whose traditional territory Education Council meetings take place. We particularly acknowledge Sigidimnak Xpisuunt (Vera Dudoward).

The Councils would also like to recognize and extend our respect to all First Nations; Tahltan, Git<u>x</u>san, Nisga'a, Haisla, Wet'suwet'en, Haida, Heiltsuk, Nuxalk, Oweekeno/Wuikinuxv, and Dakelh, who, along with Tsimshian people, we continue to collaborate and share goals of educational success.

1. Adoption of the Agenda for the June 17th 2011 meeting

Motion: Sheree Ronaasen and Melanie Wilke

To adopt the agenda as presented with the amendments to add the transfer of powers and orientation of new members. Carried

2.	Adoption of the Minutes from the 27 May 2011 meeting	
	Motion: Sheree Ronaasen and Keisha Wilson	Carried

3. Old Business

Geography215 has been assigned a course number

4. New Business:

Transfer over powers to CPAC from now until August 2011Motion: Debbie Stava and Sheree RonaasenCarried

5. Reports

Chair - Margaret Brown

The Board of Governors held a brief regular meeting June 9th followed by NWCC Governance Training facilitated by Dr Tom Thompson. The Chair did not have an opportunity to bring the motions of the May meeting forward. The focus of the training was on skill development for board members, visioning for the college

Motion: Sheree Ronaasen and Kathryn Fullerton

That the motions from EdCo report containing any motions be forwarded to the chair and or board secretary a week prior to the meeting either electronically or by mail.

Motion: Sheree Ronaasen and Reto Rieson

Margaret Brown circulate the 2 motions from the past Edco meeting that were made before the budget went through to the board secretary.

There was Discussion on the need for more representation on all the different advisory boards. Education Council needs to have a member as a representative on CPAC.

Action: Send out the following: terms of reference; list of positions that need to be filled; notice that ACKAC is seeking new members; the new committee emails, edco @ nwcc bc.ca and cpac @ nwcc.bc.ca; and the EdCo power point document.

Action: Debbie Stava will look into email accounts for elected student representatives and additional committees such as A5.

Appeals committee members for 2011-2012:

- Academic head: Sheree Ronaasen / John Krisinger
- Dave McKeever (alternate)
- Brian Butler

Action: Debbie Stava will put together one page for the council to review regarding creation of a numbering system for Ed Council motions. This will tie all

supporting documents to that motion and will allow for easy compilation of the annual motions.

First Nations Council / Joint EdCo Meeting

There should be 2 meeting a year. Debbie Stava will circulate information on the terms of reference and what to expect at these meetings. Education Council will communicate with First Nations Council to determine the next joint meeting date.

Action: Debbie Stava to send out a list of dates that might work for the next joint meeting.

Action: Margaret and Barb to get together to set the agenda for the next EdCo/ FNC meeting.

CPAC – Debbie Stava

1. Computer Science 111

Housekeeping Item: The outline for Computer Science 111 include a disclaimer that describes the use of Computer Science 111 as a social science or science elective.

Motion: Sheree Ronaasen and Beverly Moore Garcia

That the Articulation and Curriculum Committee approve Computer Science (CPSC) 111 as a social science elective for all students, and that CPSC 111 remain a science elective for students. Effective date: September 2011

2. Fundamental Math-Mercedes De la Nuez

Math 023 Math024 Math 025 Math 026

Motion: Mercedes De la Nuez and Beverly Moore Garcia That the Articulation and Curriculum Committee approve the following four courses resulting from the modularization of Math 0201 and 0202 curriculum: Math 023 as a 50-hour, 2-credit Fundamental level Math class; Math 024 as a 100-hour, 4-credit Fundamental level Math class; Math 025 as a 100-hour, 4-credit Fundamental level Math class; Math 026 as a 75-hour, 3-credit Fundamental level Math class. Effective date: September 2011

Motion: Mercedes De la Nuez and Beverly Moore Garcia *That the Articulation and Curriculum Committee approve the removal of Math 0201 and 0202 based on their replacement by Math 023, 024, 025, and 026. Effective date: September 2011*

Assessment Task Force – Tabled

Aboriginal Cultural Knowledge Committee – Tabled

Cluster Reports –

Student Services Library A5-no report

Pending Items

Next meeting: to be announced **Ajournment: Motion:** Jill Pimlott and Keisha Wilson *To adjourn the meeting at 12:35*

Certified Correct:

Chair

Secretary