AWU John Hiom Memorial Scholarship




A $1,000 scholarship will be awarded to a student completing first year sciences at the Prince Rupert campus. This award has been established as an endowment by the Academic Worker's Union to provide a lasting memorial to John Hiom’s commitment and dedication to quality science education. Selection will be by Academic Worker's Union faculty nomination; no application is required. The recipient must be eligible to enrol in a full-time science program at a post-secondary institution.

*3 x $1,000 scholarships are available in May 2024.


To be eligible a student must:

  • Be enrolled full-time (60% min course load) in 1st year University Credit Science on the Prince Rupert campus;
  • Receive nomination from an Academic Worker's Union member;
  • Enrol in a full-time (60% min course load) science program at any post-secondary institution in the following academic year. A cheque will be issued upon confirmation of enrolment.

Campus locations:

  • Prince Rupert

Funding source

  • CMTN - Foundation


May 1