Keep up-to-date with news spotlights highlighting Indigenization and general news at Coast Mountain College.

Coast Mountain College Celebrates 2024 Convocation Ceremonies in Terrace, Prince Rupert, and Smithers

Jun 13, 2024
Student celebrates convocation with parents in Terrace 2024

Northwest BC -- Coast Mountain College (CMTN) is celebrating the graduating class of 2024. 

282 students from all CMTN campuses received their credentials and will cross the stage in three ceremonies beginning in Terrace on Friday, June 7th, followed by Prince Rupert on Friday, June 14th, and Smithers on Tuesday, June 18th. 

The College is excited to recognize students, alumni, and community members at the upcoming ceremonies.

Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for Democracy, Inclusion, and Reconciliation 

This medal acknowledges a student who has excelled in their program while at the same time promoting inclusion, democracy and reconciliation within their institution and the community. 

This year’s recipient is First Nations Fine Arts student Cassidy Price. Throughout Cassidy’s two years at the College, she has shown exemplary character inside and outside the classroom, understanding the importance of humility, grace, and creating safe spaces while empowering her peers to speak up, seek supports, and hold boundaries when needed. 

In the words of her nominator, Jillian Swank, “I’m proud to know Cassidy Price and I wish her nothing but success and plenty as she continues forward as an artist, a community member, an advocate, and as a matriarch.”

Governor General’s Collegiate Bronze Medal 

The Governor General’s Collegiate Bronze Medal is awarded to the student who achieves the highest overall average upon graduation from a diploma-level, post-secondary program. This year’s recipient of the prestigious Collegiate Bronze Medal is Raylen Lanktree, who graduated from the Early Childhood Care and Education program. 

Distinguished Alumni Award 

This award is given to an alumnus of Coast Mountain College who has made an outstanding contribution to the social, cultural, or economic well-being of the College, its students, or the communities of the region it serves.

This year’s Distinguished Alumni Award goes to Ojay Christopher Matias. Ojay’s exceptional leadership has left a lasting impact on the Filipino Canadian community in Terrace and nearby areas, fostering vital community partnerships. An alumnus of the Heavy Mechanical Program, Ojay recently helped establish the Filipino-Canadian Association bursary and award for current students at CMTN. His dedication to service embodies our institutional values, offering invaluable experiences, particularly for newcomers to the community.

Community Service Award (1)

This award is given to a member of the community who is not a staff or faculty member at the College, and who demonstrates CMTN’s values by giving back to our communities and/or the College through volunteerism.

This year’s first Community Service Award goes to Terrace community member Dave Jephson. As the strongest supporter, advocate, and volunteer for Terrace Search and Rescue, Dave has saved countless lives, demonstrating remarkable leadership and selflessness. His tireless efforts have not only ensured the safety and well-being of many individuals but have also significantly strengthened the community. By fostering a spirit of solidarity and preparedness, Dave has helped build a more resilient and interconnected community, embodying the true essence of service and commitment.

Community Service Award (2)

CMTN’s second award winner for the Community Service Award goes to Smithers community member Inder Grewal. For years, Inder has been a passionate supporter of international students at the Smithers campus. She and her family welcomed students like family, giving them advice, helping them with accommodation needs, finding work, and giving tips about life in Canada. Inder is respected in her position as School District Counsellor and as a community member, volunteering at events, fundraising, and giving to those in need.

Thank you to everyone who contributes to the wellbeing, inclusion, and success of our students, staff, faculty, and community. We look forward to welcoming and celebrating more individuals in 2025! 


Media Contact:

Heather Bastin
Executive Director, External Relations
Mobile: 250-615-3855